Skip navigation

„I am Nara [eritreische Volksgruppe, d.V.]. I joined ELF in 1975. (I used to) hear about the struggle and war before (I) joined ELF, … though I was young I was hearing about the outset of the struggle in 1961. Fighters used to come at that time. … They were telling us that the struggle was being waged to free our country and that the people should join the struggle and fight the enemy. … I used to hear that Dngus Arey and the others were making up there around Dieda. But I can’t certainly say what year it was…. At that time (in 1975) many persons were going to the field and I did like that. I was alone when I went to the field. I didn’t tell my parents…. they would have told me to learn, because I was small. That was why I went without telling them. I knew that the fighters were in a place called Girda and I reached there in one day. They were of Dngus Arey. They were saying it was a battalion and it wasn’t clear as it is now. Anyway be it a company or battalion we called it as Dngus Arey’s force. They told me that I would be trained in the unit and later receive my Kalashnikov and fight.“

    Dieses Interview führte Quehl am 15.05.1999 mit der männlichen Person „A.M.A.”.
  • Quehl, Hartmut: Kämpferinnen und Kämpfer im eritreischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg 1961-1991 – Faktoren der Diversivität und der Kohärenz – Eine historische Untersuchung zur Alltags- und Sozialgeschichte des Krieges. Band 2, 2.1.5. Zivile Erfahrungen von Krieg und Gewalt. Felsberg, 2005, S. 37f.

Farbliche Hervorhebungen stammen vom Autor des Blogs.

