Skip navigation

„I joined the EPLF in 1986. I was 13 when I was recruited. Before I was recruited, I helped my mother at home. My village is distant from the towns, fighters come and go from my village. I didn’tknow anything…. They (the fighters) found me at Adi Kefelet, my mother’s village. There, they came at night and took us. There were Ethiopian soldiers (army) in that village. In fact, I went there to escape the recruitment. The Ethiopian army saw them (the fighters) but they kept quiet. Maybe they were afraid. On our way to Shelalo, on foot, we met the Ethiopian army. The fighters left us (the recruitees) in a valley and confronted the Ethiopian army. The intention of the Ethiopian army was to take us, the recruitees, but they failed. Some of them were wounded, others died and the rest went away. There were so many of us. We were from the two villages of Adi Kefelet and Adi Gebray. Our journey was on foot up to a village, near the Sudanese border. From there, we travelled on (lorries) trucks. Because it was our first time for such a long journey and there were battles everywhere, we were afraid. There were some who managed to escape. They would bring us food but we had bread (injera) which we had taken from our village. When we gathered outside of our village, our parents came and brought some bread to each of us. Even the fighters gave us biscuits. My parents came and asked them to give me back because I was too young. The fighters said, ‚don’t worry, [s]he will grow up there.“

Dieses Interview führte Quehl im Mai/Juni 1998 mit der männlichen Person „L.H.K.”.

  • Quehl, Hartmut: Kämpferinnen und Kämpfer im eritreischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg 1961-1991 – Faktoren der Diversivität und der Kohärenz – Eine historische Untersuchung zur Alltags- und Sozialgeschichte des Krieges. Band 2, 2.1.8. Formen von Zwang. Felsberg, 2005, S. 52.

Farbliche Hervorhebungen stammen vom Autor des Blogs.

